Here is the shortlist for the 2020 Costa Book Awards.

1 month ago 8

Rasheeda Saka

November 25, 2020, 11:01am

The Costa Book Awards, inaugurated in 1971, are a set of annual literary awards, which recognize and honor British and Irish writers of the English language. The Award comes with £5,000, and the winner from each category will be announced on January 4th.

This year, Evan Boland’s posthumous poetry collection made the shortlist, along with Michelle Gallen’s debut novel and Susanna Clarke’s sophomore novel.

“These poems record, in breath-taking detail the lives of ordinary women: mothers, daughters, grandmothers,” said the judges of The Historians, which has been described as the culmination of Eavan Boland’s signature themes, exploring the ways in which the hidden, sometimes all-but-erased stories of women’s lives can powerfully revise our sense of the past.

The Costa Book of the Year winner will receive another £30,000 cash prize, and this winner will be announced on January 26th, 2021. Previous winners include Helen Macdonald and Hilary Mantel.

Congrats to all!


[h/t Irish Times]

Read Entire Article